Update

Well It’s been quite a while since I last blogged. This is mostly due to me having no internet at my previous flat which I just moved into then I found out I’d have to move again so it’s been a bit hectic! I missed out on a great #OTalk the other night too which I was gutted about as it was about something I’m very interested in – Video Game Therapy in OT. I’ve played a lot of games in the past and still occasionally do so I’m always interested to know how as OTs we can implement that into our practice.

On another note; I got some good news the other day which was perfect timing as I can’t say I’ve been enjoying where I work at the moment.  I’m going to be put onto the rotation in a couple of weeks so I’ll be rotating into Surgical for 6 months. It’s going to be a nice change and I’m always eager to learn more. I’ve heard it’s less complex than MOE but faster pace which I think I’d enjoy. It’s going to be interesting to see how I cope with this compared to when I first started as a NQOT. I hope it doesn’t feel too much like starting all over again! I’ll sure be Blogging about it. Any advice about rotations would be great, i.e. how I should prepare for going into a new area when I rotate. I’ll  definitely be on the hunt for articles about this! I’m also going to have to make sure I catch up on my e-ksf with before I rotate, booo. I’m currently writing some reflections to add to it though so making a good start at least!

As well as getting onto the rotation there was another positive event to add onto the last month. Where I work has just started a Band 5 Support Group. I’ve been hoping this will happen for a while and it finally did! There’s only been one meeting so far because they’re monthly but it seems to be coming together really well. We’re still in the process of working out what will be on the agenda every week so I’ll be asking around for any suggestions on this. So far I think we have ‘Issues’, ‘Training/Events’ and ‘Journals’. I’m sure there’s a lot more but I’ve not got access to my work email here to check.

I think that’s enough of an update from me for now but hopefully I’ll be Blogging again once I rotate, so watch this space! I also still want to write an entry on ETOH (Alcohol Excess) and how it can expect a person’s functioning so expect that too!

TTFN!

Leave a Reply

